I have been craving for some cakes. Last week i wrote an email to my dear girls, asking for a recipe of the heart warming oatmeal cake baked for me when i visited Dubai in 2013.

haleema's cake

Baked by Haleema

The reply arrived and i was eagerly waiting for the weekend to bake and spoil my diet silly. I posted some pictures on Instagram and a few friends messaged me for the recipe.

Here it is… I copy and paste from the original email 🙂

1 1/2 cups boiling water
1 cup oats
Pour boiling water over the oats in a bowl and set aside.

1/2 cup butter/margarine, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
Cream these together well.

2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups plain flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt

Beat the eggs into the cream one at a time. Mix in the rest of the ingredients. Stir in the oatmeal mixture. Bake in greased pan for 30 – 35 minutes.

Topping:

6 tablespoons butter or margarine
3/4 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons cream or milk
3/4 cup dessicated coconut
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Put all ingredients into a saucepan. Heat and stir to melt butter and dissolve sugar.

wpid-wp-1421590093782

Once the cake is baked, spread this topping over the cake, and broil six to eight inches from heat until browned and bubbly. (I don’t have a broiler, so I have always put the cake on the bottom rack in the oven and baked the topping with the oven door slightly open. If your oven has a heating element or fire at the top, then you can broil it there.)

There you go. Mine look like this when done:

wpid-wp-1421590139410

i think i over broiled my topping!

I did not wait for an hour for the cake to cool down before i cut it. I cant wait that long!

Happy baking uolls!!

